Digging, and digging, and digging…

One foot under

And so we begin.  With my magical key to the shed, we retrieved some shovels, and began to dig a foot down, into the earth, in our attempt to keep out the agile woodchuck.  Aunt Susie joined us today, visiting from New York – and welcomed the opportunity to connect with the land.  She rapidly attacked the raspberry brambles, and began uprooting the plants.  I was sure that Eeya would want to join me in digging the fence holes, but he took one look, and quickly continued digging his hole to China in the center of the garden.  After a few hours, and a lot of sweat, I had dug about 1/8 of the way around the garden.  The earth was soft and yielding, like good garden soil should be, and the digging was satisfying.  I was quite proud of my accomplishment, although it struck me that it might take me a few visits to get all the way around!  And that was just the fence.  Mama kept busy tearing out the old chicken wire fence, and carefully rolling it up, so we could use it again.

~ by Shelli on April 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
