Having a Garden Means Homemade Pickles This Summer!

My Favorite Pickle Book

One of the reasons we’re so excited about our own garden is that we all love homemade pickles!  My mother (mama) is Mexican, and so we’ve always been fans of the pickled jalapeños, which are usually mixed with crunchy carrots, onions and garlic.  A few years ago I picked up an interesting looking cookbook called “Quick Pickles”, and began to experiment with homemade pickles of different types.  It was easy to make the jump from pickled chiles to other pickled veggies, and we were soon feasting on Fuchsia Pickled Turnips, Crunchy Orange Pickled Red Onions with Chipotle, as well as some fruit pickles including pickled pineapple and Balsamic Vinegar Pickled Grapefruit (my personal fave). We look forward to having some tasty tomatoes to try out some of the tomato recipes. I’ll probably also try throwing some mini-cukes near my pole beans, so I can try dill pickles.  Pickling, of course, has now led me to the thought of making my own vinegar with leftover wine (which seems to abound from our dinners with friends).  I’ve found a site, and will be ordering my “starter” to get this process going as well. My thanks to the authors of the “Quick Pickle” book, staff at the Back Eddy restaurant in Westport, MA – where we actually ate one summer a few years ago, before I knew about their amazing forays into pickles!  Can’t wait to get back there.

~ by Shelli on May 3, 2010.

2 Responses to “Having a Garden Means Homemade Pickles This Summer!”

  1. One of my co-workers just brought in his homemade pickles-delicious! It made be think of the movie polish wedding where the mother had a closet filled floor to ceiling with pickles. Good luck-it all sounds appealing!

    • I don’t know it – but will add it to my queue of movies now…have you ever seen Babettes Feast? Definitely another foodie movie…

Leave a Reply

 
