“Then You’ll Hear All Summer Long Their Bubbly Chitter-Chattering Song”

The House Wren

That’s a line from the “House Wren Poem” by Erica Stux, which is printed in her book ‘The Wonder of Wings’ – meant to get kids interested in birds.  I did not imagine that having a garden would get me more interested in songbirds, but it is difficult to resist when this tiny mouse-brown scamp meets me each time I go to the garden, and serenades me with a gorgeous, rolling twittering song.  He actually seems to come closer, and perch on a post or fence nearby, and watch us as he sings.  I lifted this image from a bird website so you could see how cute the House Wren is, but I’ll make certain to try to capture him with my own camera, perching jauntily on his rusty fence.  The variety of birds that is present near the garden is astounding, and has made me interested in trying to attract a wider variety of birds to our home. We’ve had cardinals, downy woodpeckers, finches and bluejays – but apparently the variety that exists even here in New England is beyond my limited knowledge, as represented in this garden near our home. Today’s garden visit was a quick one, and Eeya eagerly grabbed his watering can and raced around watering all the rows of newly planted seeds.  The pole beans are all coming up now, and our transplants are settling in well.  I’m placing lots of faith in the old adage “Good fences make good neighbors”.  I had never thought of it in terms of woodchucks and deer – but as more and  more time and labor is invested in our little patch of garden, the thought of those little animals feasting on my tender young shoots is pretty terrifying. I reminded Eeya that we’ll line the back of the garden with his sunflowers, and he stated with a satisfied smile “See mommy?  I have really good ideas.”

~ by Shelli on May 18, 2010.

5 Responses to ““Then You’ll Hear All Summer Long Their Bubbly Chitter-Chattering Song””

  1. Hello! It’s been nice keeping up with your blog. How far is the garden plot from your home?

  2. Sounds beautiful….wish I could be there too.

  3. For some reason it shows that I’ve written these comments at 1:30 p.m. when in reality it is 8:32 a.m. in Mexico City….Is it me or the blog site?

  4. It’s abut 20 minutes from home. I changed the time zone – it was on something else…when are you coming to see the garden? 🙂

  5. I’m glad you and Eeya are enjoying your garden and the birds who come. Maximo and I would love to come visit and help out if there’s need! We are late planting around our house as workmen have been here the past several weeks repairing, repainting…sigh.

Leave a Reply

 
