A Red-Bellied Woodpecker

The heat has driven us to visit the garden only in the wee-early hours of the morning, when it is comfortable enough to work for an hour or two, without fainting!  In addition to our usual little house-wren, singing to us from his post, today we were visited by a red-bellied woodpecker (if I have identified him correctly), and a hummingbird.  I wondered if there were hummingbirds in this area, as I had never actually spotted one.  I saw him only quickly, and he looked like a speckled brown – I’ll have to see him a few more times before I speculate on what type of hummingbird he is…  The woodpecker surprised me with his size, at least the size of a small seagull, and quite beautifully marked, with a ladder pattern down his back.  Watering was in order today, with yesterday having been (hopefully) the hottest day of summer at over 100 degrees F.  The plants looked great though, and unstressed.  We’re getting a few ripe tomatoes, some cukes and radishes, which we’ll make into a quick pickle, and a nice bunch of yellow bush beans.  Life is good.

~ by Shelli on July 7, 2010.

2 Responses to “A Red-Bellied Woodpecker”

  1. Glad to see you’re back blogging-I was worried something had happened to your garden. I can’t believe your plants are unstressed, everything in our neighborhood is dying. I like the heat, but we need some rain!

Leave a Reply

 
